School me on Hiwatt/Reeves/Hi-Tone

Make it loud here.
Sid Nitzerglobin
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

School me on Hiwatt/Reeves/Hi-Tone

Post by Sid Nitzerglobin » Thu Apr 25, 2019 1:22 pm

So the latest seed of GAS on the amp front seems to be germinating, thinking a 50w Hiwatt type circuit in head form, but I have zero personal experience w/ them. Most of what I've read would point me towards either early - mid 70s actual Hiwatts or a Reeves offering. I've seen less info on the Hi-Tones but they seem pretty legit from what I have seen and in the same ballpark price wise as the other 2.

The Reeves seem like pretty cool options based on the feedback I've found, which seems fairly universally great. Available features also seem to be in their favor as well to me from a utility perspective(power scaling in theory would help alleviate one of my big concern for flexibility for me: that any of these would just be way too loud once in the sweet spot to use at home w/o a nice attenuator; tube driven spring tank would be a big plus if I went for the Space Cowboy assuming it's worth using; tube driven effects loop as an add on option would also be great to have available too). Discovering that they're based a few miles from my house was also kind of a cool thing and if I can't convince myself to kill this sproutling of a GAS-attack I'm hoping there's a possibility I might be able to test drive one before laying out any money (?)