Farfisa FR-40

Make it loud here.
User avatar
UlricvonCatalyst
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 6093
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 4:05 am
Location: Glasgow, Scotland

Re: Farfisa FR-40

Post by UlricvonCatalyst » Wed Sep 02, 2015 3:12 am

Nice work. That, or something similar, was the first amp I ever got to play my electric guitar through. My friend's dad used it with his Transicord and occasionally we were allowed to plug into it. We used to plug a mic in too for some reverb-drenched singing.

User avatar
Racing
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 725
Joined: Sat Dec 07, 2013 2:29 pm

Re: Farfisa FR-40

Post by Racing » Wed Sep 02, 2015 3:41 pm

I hear ya.
To this day,i live in Europe since long,i´m on the lookout for the first one i ever used.

A Gibson super medalist. TBH they sound of a dead cat approx...but i fix :w00t: . Just need to find one worth the effort.

User avatar
Yvan44
PAT PEND
PAT PEND
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2018 12:44 am

Re: Farfisa FR-40

Post by Yvan44 » Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:37 am

Hi,

i'm new in this forum i've seen this rebuilt....awesome!

here's my fr40 i've just bought, before rebuild :
Image
Image

first step woulb be to change the ecaps, check everything is ok, then upgrade!!

regards

y

User avatar
s_mcsleazy
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 14804
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2011 7:30 am
Location: glasgow

Re: Farfisa FR-40

Post by s_mcsleazy » Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:43 am

i wanna plug a baritone into this and i have no idea why
offset guitars resident bass player.
'Are you trying to seduce me Mrs Robinson? Or do you just want me to solder a couple of resistors into your Muff?'

User avatar
Whoops
PAT PEND
PAT PEND
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 1:24 pm

Re: Farfisa FR-40

Post by Whoops » Thu Jul 11, 2019 5:46 pm

Racing wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2015 3:06 am
Image

Seing B+ and so forth it turned out that bias voltage,PT carries separate taps for that,was way to low. No WAY i was gonna get the voltage needed to control this thing with the ideas i had i mind.
Well. Voltage doubler time. See..them taps ALSO runs rectified heaters for two of the preamp tubes AND the voltage needed for the AC-151 transistor.
A voltage doubler setup tho handled the whole thing flying colours. Got me 66VDC raw...which is ample enough.
Hello,
I'm working in the same exact amplifier at the moment, I'm also dealing with the problem of too Low Bias voltage.

Could you please show or describe what voltage double circuit did you use?

unfortunately all the photos links in the post are dead

thank you so much

Post Reply