English Teacher - Is the hype justified?

Favorite new record? Favorite old record? Got a band? Post it here.
MazzyJaster
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

English Teacher - Is the hype justified?

Post by MazzyJaster » Sun Apr 21, 2024 8:03 pm

The first play gave me a headache as there is so much going on, and it jumps around all over the place. I even disliked the vocal style, but now after a number of plays I think the album is actually quite good. They may have overdone it with their inventiveness, but as a musician I can only admire the scale of it. Once they settle down, I think they could turn out to be a decent band, as their technical ability seems to be pretty high.
Last edited by MazzyJaster on Mon Apr 22, 2024 11:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

interceptör
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: English Teacher - Is the hype justified?

Post by interceptör » Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:13 am

I'd never heard of them before, found some video on YT and hit the emergency exit button the second I heard autotune/vocoder or whatever the kids call it these days. It was kind of an interesting novelty when Cher did it 20 (?) years ago, but now it just makes me want to hurt people.*

* No people were hurt during the writing of this message.

MazzyJaster
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by MazzyJaster » Mon Apr 22, 2024 8:07 am

interceptör wrote:
Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:13 am
I'd never heard of them before, found some video on YT and hit the emergency exit button the second I heard autotune/vocoder or whatever the kids call it these days. It was kind of an interesting novelty when Cher did it 20 (?) years ago, but now it just makes me want to hurt people.*