New user, new guitar day!

New to the board? Start a post to tell us about yourself and/or learn more about our other members.
Hellopike
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

New user, new guitar day!

Post by Hellopike » Sun Apr 02, 2017 6:47 am

Hey everybody, I'm new here. I'm just a super amateur player who picked up the guitar a little more than a year ago as a hobby. I tried as a teenager and it never took off, but as I'm leaving my thirties I've got more patience to learn. (And the internet doesn't hurt either.)

I'm mainly into rock and roll and some metal as far as musical tastes go. I've mainly been a Telecaster player. Had one as a teen because of Eddie vedder of Pearl Jam, and because my father played a Strat (and I had to be different.)

Anyways I picked up a Fender Pawnshop Super-Sonic from CL yesterday and it's my first shortscale guitar and offset... its neat- it's the orange flake finish. Like new. The previous owner still had all the case candy and tremolo arm in a sealed bag from when he bought it new in 2012 or so. I'm having some minor issues with the volumes dropping in the bridge pickup setting, I posted in the tech/setup sub-forum hoping someone more familiar with this guitar can offer some insight.

I've lurked around this forum a bit in the past, but honestly never much more than to look at the pics of customized guitars. That said I'm going to dive in. It's quite a different vibe than TDPRI, I'll give you that. Feels a little younger, a little less conventional and a lot less... "rural" I guess you could say.

Here's some pics of my two main guitars-

My silverburst Telecaster. I've re-wired it so the stock bridge sees 250k tone pot, and the neck (a rose pickup T90) to "see" 500k. I changed the control plate to a slanted Glendale plate with a chrome switch tip. It growls. No twang. :)

The new Super-Sonic

ifallalot
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: New user, new guitar day!

Post by ifallalot » Sun Apr 02, 2017 7:34 am