Ash vs. Alder Jazzmaster

Discussion of vintage Jazzmasters, Jaguars, Bass VIs, Electric XIIs and any other offset-waist instruments.
armensguitars
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Ash vs. Alder Jazzmaster

Post by armensguitars » Tue Feb 06, 2024 8:14 am

I have a vintage jazzmaster with an alder body, and I recently stumbled into a 1961 ash body Jazzmaster (originally blonde) with a swapped neck. Trying to restore the '61 as at least I could justify having another jazzmaster if its somehow different, right? Wondering if people have compared the two woods, especially vintage ones, and what the tonal or other differences might be. So far, the ash body is the lightest JM body I have held.

ainm
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Ash vs. Alder Jazzmaster

Post by ainm » Wed Feb 07, 2024 12:23 pm

I’ve an ash Strat. 90’s, so nowhere near vintage unless you live on Reddit. I’m surprised the Jazzmaster is light as I thought ash was the heaviest of the woods Fender typically use. I’m sure there’s massive variance in all the wood types though. Anyway, the Strat is heavy.

I think it’s the best sounding electric guitar I have acoustically. Whatever I describe will sound different to another set of ears, but for what it’s worth, it sounds very sweet when I I’m gentle with my chords. It has a real ringing quality for me. Maybe a bit thin picking out individual notes on the higher strings; maybe a bit gritty digging in on the wounds, but I like that.

Good over tones. Good scratch on it for rhythm work. I tend to play punk stuff on it with a little flick here and there to higher strings. If I had to describe it (unplugged), You Know You’re Right. I’ve currently got it strung fairly heavy for a 25.5 inch. Can’t remember what. And it has a maple board.

I’ve a set of hot rails that I’ve been meaning to try in it because plugged in it’s a bit useless for me. Kinda like a Strat? 🤷‍♂️

Doubt any of that was useful to you, but there it is.

armensguitars
PAT. # 2.972.923