Inserting an Image

For troubles with forum features or general questions regarding site moderation/administration.
Post Reply
john999
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:30 pm
Location: Southend on Sea, Nevada UK

Re: Inserting an Image

Post by john999 » Sun Apr 04, 2010 10:56 am

Hi, I have just tried to post some pictures from my Picassa web album by copying & pasting the "link to this picture" in between the Img tags. It kept coming up "Image dimensions not recognised so I went & resized all the pic's to 640 pixels and started again, only the same thing happened,
Is this an issue with Picassa web albums or am I doing something wrong?

User avatar
Jay
Admin
Admin
Posts: 7503
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 5:01 pm
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Contact:

Re: Inserting an Image

Post by Jay » Sun Apr 04, 2010 12:08 pm

Picasa appears to be using some form of link encoding that prevents deep linking as there is no file name or file extension as part of the URL. I couldn't make it work either.

john999
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:30 pm
Location: Southend on Sea, Nevada UK

Re: Inserting an Image

Post by john999 » Sun Apr 04, 2010 3:19 pm

Thanks Jay, I will have to find another upload site, like imageshack.us mentioned in one post (tho' I live in the UK).
I read your original post & tried to post some pics of the block inlays on a neck I'm building, to no avail. Can you recommend anything similar to "imageshack" that might work? Many thanks, John.

User avatar
Jay
Admin
Admin
Posts: 7503
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 5:01 pm
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Contact:

Re: Inserting an Image

Post by Jay » Sun Apr 04, 2010 4:22 pm

Flickr works ok and it's free for images up to 1024x768 (it re-sizes them down automatically).

User avatar
mezcalhead
Admin
Admin
Posts: 11532
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 4:18 am
Location: Swampland

Re: Inserting an Image

Post by mezcalhead » Mon Apr 05, 2010 9:56 am

I'm based in the UK and use Photobucket without problems. My wife uses Flickr for her photography stuff and never any issues with them either.
Distance-crunching honcho with echo unit.

User avatar
luau
Admin
Admin
Posts: 8491
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 7:07 am
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL, USA

Re: Inserting an Image

Post by luau » Mon Apr 05, 2010 10:52 am

I've been using http://imgur.com/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false; lately. There's also a firefox extension, https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/14389" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;, for context menu uploading which is very handy.

john999
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:30 pm
Location: Southend on Sea, Nevada UK

Re: Inserting an Image

Post by john999 » Tue Apr 06, 2010 11:26 am

Thanxx guys, I have opened a free "Photobucket" and works a treat. Even has the IMG tags to click on and really fast. Now managed to do my first proper post in "Mods & Projects- Big Block Inlays with a Dremell & Bandsaw", now my home build project is at last, underway.

User avatar
danbind
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 618
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 5:43 pm
Location: VA - US of A

Re: Inserting an Image

Post by danbind » Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:38 am

I get the "It was not possible to determine the dimensions of the image." message regardless of which site I use. I've tried Flickr and Imageshack. :(

I have a suspicion that my link isn't really pointing at the image, but I can't find anything wrong with it (ignore bracket changes):

{img}http://img689.imageshack.us/i/headstocasters.jpg/{/img}
Last edited by danbind on Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
remember / to kick it over

User avatar
bigsur78
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 8:37 am
Location: there is a town in south Ontario...
Contact:

Re: Inserting an Image

Post by bigsur78 » Wed Apr 21, 2010 8:56 am

I have a question that's sort of related. How do I lift and insert an image from the Dressing Room? I have no problem with inserting images, usually I just right click and pick "Copy Image URL" but the Dressing Room is a flash application and this isn't possible. Am I missing something?
Thanks and sorry if this has been covered somewhere before.

User avatar
Jay
Admin
Admin
Posts: 7503
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 5:01 pm
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Contact:

Re: Inserting an Image

Post by Jay » Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:42 pm

Use print screen and paste into a graphic app... there are more details for how to do it in the dressing room section.

User avatar
bigsur78
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 541
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 8:37 am
Location: there is a town in south Ontario...
Contact:

Re: Inserting an Image

Post by bigsur78 » Wed Apr 21, 2010 2:49 pm

thanks!

User avatar
Orang Goreng
Mods
Mods
Posts: 15877
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 5:56 am
Location: Amsterdam, NL - €
Contact:

Re: Inserting an Image

Post by Orang Goreng » Thu Apr 22, 2010 1:49 pm

The gallery isn't currently working, so that makes sense ;).
In the land of the blind, the one-eyed man's a freak.

john999
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 612
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:30 pm
Location: Southend on Sea, Nevada UK

Re: Inserting an Image

Post by john999 » Fri Apr 23, 2010 2:00 pm

Photobucket.com works really well, even gives drop down menu for each picture including "IMG" code. "Ctrl-C" to copy and paste it onto the forum post, a real time saver which includes the "IMG" codes. Glad its now sorted as a bit confusing at first, what is required. Makes sense tho' as hosting images would cause a huge bandwidth problem, I guess.

User avatar
DrQuasar
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 611
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 7:58 am
Location: Las Vegas

Re: Inserting an Image

Post by DrQuasar » Thu Jun 03, 2010 5:00 am

Do we have to resize images elsewhere or can we use the resize image BBCode function? ([img=100x100] etc.) I can't seem to get that to work. Just curious.

User avatar
Jay
Admin
Admin
Posts: 7503
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 5:01 pm
Location: Santa Ana, CA
Contact:

Re: Inserting an Image

Post by Jay » Thu Jun 03, 2010 6:34 am

I don't think PHPBB support the resize image. That or our version doesn't.

Post Reply