Low 'n' Heavy: Fender Blacktop Jazzmaster HS vs. G&L Fallout

Discussion of newer designs, copies and reissue offset-waist instruments.
CivoLee
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Low 'n' Heavy: Fender Blacktop Jazzmaster HS vs. G&L Fallout

Post by CivoLee » Mon Sep 17, 2018 10:57 pm

Hello everyone, long time lurker (kind of; I mainly just fooled around with the Dressing Room), first time poster...

I've been playing guitar for a about 20 years now, off and on for the first 3-4 before finally getting "serious". Being a big fan of late 80s/early 90s alternative rock, I thought I'd be an offset player, but it turned out I was more of a Les Paul guy. I have a 2005 Tokai Love Rock goldtop (Gibsons are out of my current budget and I dislike the standard Epiphone Les Paul headstock - and good luck trying to find an Elitist for a reasonable price these days) as my main guitar and a Paul Reed Smith SE Standard 24 as my backup and for songs that need 24 frets and/or a whammy bar. I play a fairly wide range of music on my own (OK mostly classic/alternative rock, punk/post-punk, and occasionally I try my hand at funk with varying results), but the band I'm in plays metal. Soundwise, I'd say we're a mix of groove metal with occasional proggy and stoner bits, though our frontman is a big fan of Lamb of God (I like them too, but as far as that kind of metal goes I'm more into Mastodon and Shadows Fall- remember them?) so there's definitely a touch of their sound in ours. We also throw in few deathcore and djent influences so that we're not totally a throwback band.