Went to Guitar Store Today...Have Thoughts But Still Need Help Choosing My First Electric Guitar!

Discussion of newer designs, copies and reissue offset-waist instruments.

Which electric guitar should I get?

Fender American Performer Mustang
15%
Fender American Professional Jaguar
56%
Something Else
30%

Total votes: 27

figgypudding18
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Went to Guitar Store Today...Have Thoughts But Still Need Help Choosing My First Electric Guitar!

Post by figgypudding18 » Fri Sep 20, 2019 4:21 pm

Hello again everyone, I recently posted a thread asking which Fender I should get as my first electric guitar (I have been playing acoustic seriously for a whopping seven monthsish). I went to my local guitar store and tried the following Fenders with the help of a very nice employee who was very willing to help me out with understanding switches, knobs, etc...: American Performer Telecaster, Vintera Jaguar, Player Series Special Jaguar, Duo-Sonic, American Performer Jazzmaster.

Here's some misc. information about the process so far...

Favorite musicians/bands that use electric guitar: are Radiohead, Sigur Ros, Nirvana, Pinegrove, Marika Hackman, Coldplay, Bon Iver, The Japanese House. I also really like acoustic folk/indie folk in addition to indie/alternative rock.

Buying strategy: Buy a quality instrument that will remain valuable over the years and be my electric guitar for life. Some say that it's an unrealistic goal of mine to have one acoustic and one electric. Maybe it is, but I'm a minimalist, and I'm willing to live with whatever guitar I bring home after doing research and trying multiple guitars. Took this strategy with my acoustic and am very happy with it.

Budget: no higher than $1600ish for the guitar so I have money for amp/other misc. gear.

Thoughts from playing

American Performer Telecaster