CV Jag won't return to pitch when pulling up on trem

For help with setups and other technical issues.
Voiturefeml
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

CV Jag won't return to pitch when pulling up on trem

Post by Voiturefeml » Fri Dec 22, 2023 4:37 pm

This my first guitar with an offset trem and I've been using stuff I've learned to set it up from Mike Adams channel and I've gotten it to return pretty much perfectly in tune when I do dive bombs or whatever, but whenever I pull up on the arm even by the tiniest amount and it goes sharp.

I don't hear any pings, I lubricated the nut and I did a little bit of sanding on the little plate of the trem because there was some clicking and it was getting stuck but it still goes sharp.
This is my first time messing with an offset so I don't know if I'm missing something or if the trem is just too cheap to get it to get it to work properly or whatever.

GilmourD
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: CV Jag won't return to pitch when pulling up on trem

Post by GilmourD » Fri Dec 22, 2023 7:01 pm

So, how high up is the bridge and is it centered/standing straight up when not using the trem?

timtam
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by timtam » Fri Dec 22, 2023 7:05 pm

It's possible that tuning instability with trem use can be due to the bridge, the trem itself, or the nut.

TL;DR: considering the bridge first, how high is it ? (a side pic would help). [this post written at the same time as the above post, which cuts to the chase] ;)

The key to stable tuning of the freely rocking bridge is sufficiently high string-saddle friction. That is achieved by sufficient string-saddle downforce. And never lubricating the string-saddle contact points.

That high friction means that the strings never lose grip on the bridge - it always rocks all the way forward and all the way back with trem use. And remains in the neutral/middle position at other times.