Replacing noiseless pups in American Ultra JM

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.
KurtSmile
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Replacing noiseless pups in American Ultra JM

Post by KurtSmile » Sun Mar 29, 2020 7:40 am

So I'd been looking to join the offset club for years and finally took the plunge when the American Ultra finally introduced noiseless pickups to the jazzmaster lineup; I'm pretty OCD about noise and always liked the tone of my old '04 american delux strat. I love the look, bridge/tremolo, switching capabilities, and feel/playability of the new American Ultra and was able to dial in some really nice tones from my little Princeton-esque amp with a few pedals and was digging it until I started playing a 2018 60th anniversary classic JM with stock MIM single coils through the same setup... it's like a completely different instrument; much hotter output, much brighter (borderline ice pick but easy to tame with tone knob), and so much more articulate and clear and punchy. Going back to the Ultra's noiseless pickups now feels like putting a blanket on the amp and playing with old dead strings, even when using an EQ pedal to try and brighten it back up. I barely play it now, so I figure it's time to replace the pickups, and I'm leaning toward the '65 pure vintage (hopefully should sound different enough from the Classic's pups to set it apart).

My question is, will I have to make any changes to the wiring, or can I just solder the new pups' wires exactly where the old noiseless ones were? I'm decent with a soldering iron but have never replaced pickups, and have no idea whether the S1 switching or out-of-phase circuit change things.

I'm heading out to a cabin in the woods this week to do a little jamming/reading/social distancing and can upload a comparison clip if anyone's interested.

Larry Mal
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Replacing noiseless pups in American Ultra JM

Post by Larry Mal » Sun Mar 29, 2020 8:18 am