Wilkinson roller bridge and saddle shims question

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.
ViolenceHD
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Wilkinson roller bridge and saddle shims question

Post by ViolenceHD » Thu Jul 23, 2020 11:45 am

Hi all,

I attempted some digging via Search, but I'm getting some conflicting information.

I have a Squier J Mascis Jazzmaster and should be getting this B31 Wilkinson roller bridge delivered today.

https://www.guitarfetish.com/Wilkinson- ... p_866.html

I think(?) it's a 14" radius bridge, though I've seen it referred to as 12" elsewhere.

To anybody that has done this mod: How many aluminum can shims did you need for each saddle to get it to 9.5"?

I've seen 3 shims under the D and G saddles, and 2 shims under the A and B saddles. I've also seen a suggestion of 2 shims under the D and G and 1 under the A and B. Which of these worked better for you?

timtam
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Wilkinson roller bridge and saddle shims question

Post by timtam » Thu Jul 23, 2020 7:32 pm

That Wilkinson-style roller bridge is widely available on ebay etc from Asia. Whether they all come from the same factory or a range of factories is uncertain. So they could be made with different radii and/or at that inexpensive price point, manufacturing tolerances may not be tight. So if you want a particular radius the best bet would be to string it up and then measure the actual string radius achieved by the bridge over the neck (paper cut-out radius gauges are downloadable from several sources), and then only adjust/shim the bridge if really necessary to achieve the design action (at the 12th fret) for each string.