Where to mount ground wire at Jazzmaster tremolo

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.
Post Reply
User avatar
elektrovac
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 937
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 12:22 pm
Location: Floating in space

Where to mount ground wire at Jazzmaster tremolo

Post by elektrovac » Tue Mar 23, 2010 12:25 pm

Hi there,

What's the good place to mount a ground wire to the Jazzmaster/Jaguar tremolo unit inside the cavity?

I put it under one of the three screws that hold the piece of metal that holds the strings, but it makes this unit a bit slant because of the thickness of the wire.

Any suggestions?

Does Fender do this or do they still use the bridge timbles for grounding the strings? My USA Custom Guitars body has a hole drilled to the tremolo cavity for a ground wire - and I think it's a brilliant concept, but where do I mount the wire?

Thanks!

User avatar
Stratelejazzuar
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 6704
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:15 pm
Location: K-W, Ontario, Canada

Re: Where to mount ground wire at Jazzmaster tremolo

Post by Stratelejazzuar » Tue Mar 23, 2010 12:32 pm

i believe the bare wire just gets wedged between the body and the tailpiece plate.

i think i read, too, that ground wires shouldn't go around screws or in screw holes because it's not as safe that way

User avatar
dthodtho
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 182
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 3:08 pm

Re: Where to mount ground wire at Jazzmaster tremolo

Post by dthodtho » Tue Mar 23, 2010 12:34 pm

My MIJ JM has the ground wire just taped onto the side of the cavity underneath the trem unit, leaving the wire hanging over the edge, so that it makes contact with the trem unit as you put it back on. I don't know if that makes sense. It kind of hangs over the side like an orange peel in a horse's neck cocktail:

Image

User avatar
fullerplast
Mods
Mods
Posts: 12704
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 4:53 am
Location: In My Room

Re: Where to mount ground wire at Jazzmaster tremolo

Post by fullerplast » Tue Mar 23, 2010 12:35 pm

Image

Fender quit using the bridge cup ground in early '62. After that, all the vintage ones were done like it the photo. I'm not sure about AVRI.
Q. Are we not men?

User avatar
staytuned
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 921
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 4:22 pm
Location: Houston, Texas
Contact:

Re: Where to mount ground wire at Jazzmaster tremolo

Post by staytuned » Tue Mar 23, 2010 1:15 pm

My avri is drilled for the wire in the trem route but grounded through the bridge posts. No wire runs through it but they made it to where you have the option.

Post Reply