Where to mount ground wire at Jazzmaster tremolo

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.

Where to mount ground wire at Jazzmaster tremolo

Postby elektrovac » Tue Mar 23, 2010 12:25 pm

Hi there,

What's the good place to mount a ground wire to the Jazzmaster/Jaguar tremolo unit inside the cavity?

I put it under one of the three screws that hold the piece of metal that holds the strings, but it makes this unit a bit slant because of the thickness of the wire.

Any suggestions?

Does Fender do this or do they still use the bridge timbles for grounding the strings? My USA Custom Guitars body has a hole drilled to the tremolo cavity for a ground wire - and I think it's a brilliant concept, but where do I mount the wire?

Thanks!
User avatar
elektrovac
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
 
Posts: 861
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 12:22 pm
Location: Floating in space
Top

Re: Where to mount ground wire at Jazzmaster tremolo

Postby Stratelejazzuar » Tue Mar 23, 2010 12:32 pm

i believe the bare wire just gets wedged between the body and the tailpiece plate.

i think i read, too, that ground wires shouldn't go around screws or in screw holes because it's not as safe that way
User avatar
Stratelejazzuar
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
 
Posts: 6207
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:15 pm
Location: K-W, Ontario, Canada
Top

Re: Where to mount ground wire at Jazzmaster tremolo

Postby dthodtho » Tue Mar 23, 2010 12:34 pm

My MIJ JM has the ground wire just taped onto the side of the cavity underneath the trem unit, leaving the wire hanging over the edge, so that it makes contact with the trem unit as you put it back on. I don't know if that makes sense. It kind of hangs over the side like an orange peel in a horse's neck cocktail:

Image
User avatar
dthodtho
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 3:08 pm
Top

Re: Where to mount ground wire at Jazzmaster tremolo

Postby fullerplast » Tue Mar 23, 2010 12:35 pm

Image

Fender quit using the bridge cup ground in early '62. After that, all the vintage ones were done like it the photo. I'm not sure about AVRI.
Q. Are we not men?
User avatar
fullerplast
Mods
Mods
 
Posts: 12673
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 4:53 am
Location: In My Room
Top

Re: Where to mount ground wire at Jazzmaster tremolo

Postby staytuned » Tue Mar 23, 2010 1:15 pm

My avri is drilled for the wire in the trem route but grounded through the bridge posts. No wire runs through it but they made it to where you have the option.
User avatar
staytuned
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
 
Posts: 921
Joined: Sun Jun 29, 2008 4:22 pm
Location: Houston, Texas
Top


Return to Mods & Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ARAMP1, fishjumpinboats and 6 guests