Opinions on a cracked neck SG

For guitars of the straight waisted variety (or reverse offset).
RIORIO
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Opinions on a cracked neck SG

Post by RIORIO » Thu Jun 13, 2019 7:50 pm

Hey Gibson heads!

I'm very new to anything Gibson, so excuse the ignorance...

I have a lead on a SG thats really cool. Its cheap because of a pretty gnarly headstock repair. The current owner is in a legit national touring band and has been using it on the road for 3 years (post repair) with no problems...

So my question...

The guitar is about half the price of the equivalent non-broken-headstocked SG Deluxe (3 firebird pickups and Maestro Vibrato)...

Is that a fair price?
What do you think of the break? It looks pretty bad to me.... :unsure:
Is this something I'll have to revisit at a later date?

For the record, its setup and plays really well. Checked it out today...

Any guidance is appreciated!

jvin248
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Opinions on a cracked neck SG

Post by jvin248 » Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:11 pm

A used guitar should be 50-60% of street retail price. A broken/repaired headstock should be 25% of street retail price. Is that the price being offered?

A Gibson is just riddled with headstock breakage drama. Sure, other guitars can break but why get locked into that cycle of misfortune and despair? Do a google search on 'headstock repair' and 95% of the results are related to Gibson models. They break inside cases even.

I own both a vintage Gibson SG and an Epiphone SG G-400. The Epiphone gets all the play time and hangs out on the wall of guitars to be played, the Gibson sits in the case of shame in the closet waiting for some day I decide to sell it. Epiphones are built with a scarf joint and a lower headstock angle so while they can break, they are much more like sturdy Strats and Telecasters for headstock durability.