New Lefty Jaguar Project

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.
BrendanP
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

New Lefty Jaguar Project

Post by BrendanP » Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:57 pm

I just bought a "loaded" lefty Jaguar body on Ebay.  :)  Not as "loaded" as I would like, but I already have a Mustang bridge and have lined up a lefty trem arm. I will be ordering a neck soon, so here's my question: Can someone with a CIJ Jaguar check with width of their fretboard at the widest point on the heel?  It may seem like a silly question, but I've had a lot of experience with MIJ/CIJ strats and found that many of those leave the factory with something other than 2 3/16" wide at the heel. I know that seems odd.  Even though they all fit their original bodies perfectly, I found this issue when swapping necks between guitars. I actually have a '57 MIJ RI neck here that's a full 2 1/4" at the heel. I know I can wait until the body arrives and measure, but that's 10 days away.  ;D No, I'm not going to order before getting it, just wondering if that's going to be an issue.  If it's wider than 2 3/16", I'll go with USACG since they will alter the heel width if necessary. If not, I'll go with Warmoth since the D/A truss rod is appealing. ( this after buying a thick neck with a vintage truss rod that refused to give any relief at all)