Volume Pedals--What to look for and how to set up

Everyone needs a stompbox.
RumorsOFsurF
Mods
Mods

Volume Pedals--What to look for and how to set up

Post by RumorsOFsurF » Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:03 pm

I'm a volume pedal noob. I want a volume pedal to do swells and all that fun stuff, but I don't want it to affect my sound when it's wide open. Everything I've read suggest that a volume pedal in your chain will affect your sound regardless of the style of pedal. If I'm looking for full brightness and unaffected sound, what should I look for?

Also, where in the chain should it be?

My current small setup is Boss Tuner>Fulltone OCD>MXR Carbon Copy>EHX LPB>Hot Rod Deluxe
Damn kids, get off my lawn!

marqueemoon
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Volume Pedals--What to look for and how to set up

Post by marqueemoon » Thu Nov 14, 2019 9:40 pm

The safest (and most expensive) option for avoiding tone suck is an active (buffered) volume pedal.

I’ve found that as long as it’s after a buffered pedal my old school Ernie Ball passive is fine though.

Your Boss tuner is buffered AND should have a second output that is always on. This opens up the possibility of a passive as well as leaving the tuner always on and using the VP for tuning mute (as long as it’s before the VP of course).

Placement-wise with your setup I would put it between the OCD and the delay.

If you tend to ride the volume control on your guitar you could try placing it before the OCD. You get more tonal shadings with this placement. I personally like after drive. Swells are more synth-like that way.

Shadoweclipse13
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by Shadoweclipse13 » Fri Nov 15, 2019 3:15 am