Lower-gain Rat alternative?

Everyone needs a stompbox.
guitarsammy
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Lower-gain Rat alternative?

Post by guitarsammy » Thu May 04, 2023 11:42 pm

I have a Jazzmaster and an AC15, and a few pedals including a Rat. I like the Rat a lot, except for two issues:

- I only use it as quite a light drive (distortion set to somewhere in the 9 o’clock range). I kind of hate anything higher. I sometimes find it hard to find that sweet spot.
- It sucks some bass out of the signal. When I engage the Rat, I can really hear this. I have the filter off at all times.

Are there any pedals out there that might be a) lower gain but in the ball park of a minimally-distorting Rat, and b) have less of a bass cut than a Rat?

JSett
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Lower-gain Rat alternative?

Post by JSett » Fri May 05, 2023 12:20 am

What you need to do is the Rat Ruetz mod. It's the simplest one out there and just involves cutting/desoldering one leg of one resistor. And is totally reversible.

This brings all the bass back and halves (or more) the available distortion. It turns it into a great gritty overdrive with a much more usable range. My main 2 Rat pedals both have this done to them and I wouldn't have them any other way.
Silly Rabbit, don't you know scooped mids are for kids?

HarktheUmpire
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by HarktheUmpire » Fri May 05, 2023 12:27 am

That’s an option. There’s an informative thread on that here

If you did want to try something that’s not a Rat, maybe a Subdecay Liquid Sunshine would be more your thing? Those are a lot more transparent than a Rat, don’t eliminate the low end but still let you brighten up your tone if you wish. Far bigger usable range of low-to-mid overdrive too.

Dr Tony Balls
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by Dr Tony Balls » Fri May 05, 2023 5:47 am