Re: your effects setup?

Everyone needs a stompbox.
User avatar
Shadoweclipse13
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 9378
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:22 pm
Location: Stuck in the dimension of imagination

Re: your effects setup?

Post by Shadoweclipse13 » Fri Jul 10, 2020 2:56 am

lamp wrote:
Thu Jul 09, 2020 11:36 am
Thanks! I plan to use them together most of the time ;D
The June 60 is great, I really like it. I mean it's a 3 trick pony, but I just love setting 1. For me it's perfect - a lush deep chorus effect. I quite like the simplicity - at least it's one pedal that stops me from forever tweaking!
I've been wanting that Juno chorus sound for a while, though possibly for synth. I've been debating between a June 60 like you've got and a Boss DC-2W.

I toyed around with the idea of a main board with a side board (just for some extras like you have), but my problem is that I always thought it would be cool to have the side board in an "effects loop" somewhere in the middle of your board (between gain and delays/reverbs), and the stuff I'd put on the side board would technically be needed/wanted all over the place. I also had the idea of doing my board as 3 smaller boards (to save space for travel to a jam session, etc.) which would be everything up to gain, a modulation/side board, and then a 3rd as delays/reverbs.
Pickup Switching Mad Scientist
http://www.offsetguitars.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=104282&p=1438384#p1438384

User avatar
natthu
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 2511
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 4:30 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: your effects setup?

Post by natthu » Fri Jul 10, 2020 8:48 am

Shadoweclipse13 wrote:
Fri Jul 10, 2020 2:56 am
...I always thought it would be cool to have the side board in an "effects loop" somewhere in the middle of your board ...
I have done this before using a switched TRS socket in a patchbay. When the side board is not plugged in the socket allows the main chain to act as normal, but when you plug the side board in it interrupts the chain and inserts the extra board in the middle. I had the send/return of the side board running through a 2x TS to TRS breakout box to facilitate the whole thing requiring only the one TRS cable between the two boards. You could easily achieve the same thing with two TS cables if you preferred.

User avatar
Shadoweclipse13
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 9378
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:22 pm
Location: Stuck in the dimension of imagination

Re: your effects setup?

Post by Shadoweclipse13 » Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:20 am

natthu wrote:
Fri Jul 10, 2020 8:48 am
Shadoweclipse13 wrote:
Fri Jul 10, 2020 2:56 am
...I always thought it would be cool to have the side board in an "effects loop" somewhere in the middle of your board ...
I have done this before using a switched TRS socket in a patchbay. When the side board is not plugged in the socket allows the main chain to act as normal, but when you plug the side board in it interrupts the chain and inserts the extra board in the middle. I had the send/return of the side board running through a 2x TS to TRS breakout box to facilitate the whole thing requiring only the one TRS cable between the two boards. You could easily achieve the same thing with two TS cables if you preferred.
That's fantastic. What kinds of things did you put in the loop?
Pickup Switching Mad Scientist
http://www.offsetguitars.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=104282&p=1438384#p1438384

User avatar
natthu
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 2511
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 4:30 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: your effects setup?

Post by natthu » Fri Jul 10, 2020 3:04 pm

Shadoweclipse13 wrote:
Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:20 am

That's fantastic. What kinds of things did you put in the loop?
I have a lot of effects (basically I have a problem) so really I didn't need the loop as such, it was mainly a way to quickly and easily swap out different units of the same effects... but I do also have a small board set up for sitar simulation so I suppose that adds different functionality.

I have somewhat an obsession with making things 'modular' and bespoke. All of my boards have some form of patchbay built in. I prefer small and medium Pedalboards over the large ones and currently have six I use (more I don't use). Most are in a mess because I also like to endlessly tinker.

I make effects pedals on occasion too, or sometimes Rehouse existing ones to a form factor I prefer. I have been known to add in extra Sockets and special switches into these pedals. I'd like to think what I do is sort of 'clever' but in reality, it's probably a bit unnecessary and redundant.... I enjoy the challenge of finding solutions to problems that aren't really problems ;)

The result of all this is that I have a bunch of different options ready to go or to be quickly modified, but I can also just grab one small board that won't distract me from playing for when I'm in a band situation.

User avatar
sunburster
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 866
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2015 3:04 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: your effects setup?

Post by sunburster » Fri Jul 17, 2020 4:16 pm

I got a Flint and rearranged some pedals. (Here is the previous version of my board: viewtopic.php?f=11&t=189&start=5925#p1625656)

Image

Signal Chain: TS Mini > Loomer > Pitchfactor > DD-500 > Ola > Flint > Timeline > Big Sky > Immerse MKII

I am really happy with this now. It's perfect for me and I don't feel like I need anything else. Putting the DD-500 before the chorus and tremolo (and Flint's reverb) opens up a lot of options, with the Timeline delay following them. I moved the Neunaber Immerse MKII to the end because I found out it sums to mono (unlike the Strymon Big Sky). So if I just want to play on my Twin Reverb, it sounds a lot better this way.

I really used up nearly every centimeter on this Pedaltrain Classic 1! :w00t:

User avatar
stevejamsecono
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 3805
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 10:55 am
Location: Brooklyn, NYC
Contact:

Re: your effects setup?

Post by stevejamsecono » Sat Jul 25, 2020 7:12 pm

Image20200725_230658 by Steve Bailey, on Flickr

Replaced a Maxon FL301 with the Retrosonic Flanger and added my SD1 back in. All sounds pretty awesome!
And you find out life isn't like that
It's so hard to understand
Why the world is your oyster but your future's a clam

User avatar
spiffy chap
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 1075
Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 12:42 am
Contact:

Re: your effects setup?

Post by spiffy chap » Tue Jul 28, 2020 12:29 pm

Not the usual setup, but recording in a month so tone chasing

70's Thinline, 65 Jag & 74 SG not pictured

EH Bass Micro Synth > Whammy II > Mutron Phasor > Script 45 > 90's Reverse FF > Pigdog Vulture

TB Loooper > (Loop 1) Zvex SD2n1 (used as a pre-gain so can get lower output) > (Loop 2) Prescription RX Experience > (Loop 3) EFE Lucifer Rising > Boss PS-3 > TC Electronic SCP > Demeter Tremulator > Boss DM-2 > Boss RV-2 > Peterson StroboStomp

Lexicon Vortex > Roland RE-201 > Fender Bassman


ImageImageImage

User avatar
zhivago
Mods
Mods
Posts: 20854
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2006 6:18 am
Location: London, UK

Re: your effects setup?

Post by zhivago » Tue Jul 28, 2020 1:15 pm

Really cool FX selection! ^^^^ 8)
Resident Spartan.

User avatar
Shadoweclipse13
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 9378
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:22 pm
Location: Stuck in the dimension of imagination

Re: your effects setup?

Post by Shadoweclipse13 » Tue Aug 04, 2020 2:31 am

natthu wrote:
Fri Jul 10, 2020 3:04 pm
Shadoweclipse13 wrote:
Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:20 am

That's fantastic. What kinds of things did you put in the loop?
I have a lot of effects (basically I have a problem)...
... ...
I have somewhat an obsession with making things 'modular' and bespoke.
... ...
I make effects pedals on occasion too, or sometimes Rehouse existing ones to a form factor I prefer. I have been known to add in extra Sockets and special switches into these pedals. I'd like to think what I do is sort of 'clever' but in reality, it's probably a bit unnecessary and redundant.... I enjoy the challenge of finding solutions to problems that aren't really problems ;)
Are you secretly me? Haha. I forgot that I never replied here. I personally LOVE modularity, and happen to overthink an idea as well. I'll come up with cool ideas, only to realize later that they are unnecessary, etc. Still though, at 34 years old, I wouldn't trade my creativity for anything. I love complicated routing on pedalboards, and even if I never actually build that pedalboard, it's fun to plan weird things out 8) 8)
Pickup Switching Mad Scientist
http://www.offsetguitars.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=104282&p=1438384#p1438384

User avatar
Gavanti
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 1505
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:31 pm
Location: Des Noise, Idohiowa
Contact:

Re: your effects setup?

Post by Gavanti » Tue Aug 04, 2020 10:01 am

My setup has gotten a little out-of-hand this year. I’m usually pretty good at winnowing out things I try on the board based on what sounds good in practice, but there’s been none of that in COVIDland, and I’ve been dealing with social distancing by auditioning pedals for several months, so here’s where I’m at:

Image

Clyde>Pitchblack>Unicorn>Twin Peaks>Sun Face>Spooky Tooth>Fuzz Mutant>Dusk>Turbo RAT>Benson>Broadcast>Tensor> Kilobyte>Meteore> Somersault>Rubberneck>Parabola>RYRA>Volante>RE-20

I need to rework my power setup so that I can get voltage to everything on the board from the power supply. The core here is the Benson/Broadcast pairing as one or both are almost always on. The offboard delays will likely be home use only. I picked up the RE-20 in a trade and meant to sell it, but it sounds so good, it’s hard to let it go. If I can place the Dusk and dial it in so that it will work as an adequate wah substitute with expression, I wouldn’t mind leaving the Clyde behind for practice. I’ll have to wait to see what survives as a booster until the band can get together. I’m not certain yet whether I’d like to just use the Broadcast or have an additional final boost. If the latter, I’ll probably try a DOD410 against the Klone at some point, and the Parabola is an option there as well, though it's limited in eq shaping. I probably have one fuzz too many on the board as well, and the Fuzz Mutant is wedged in a little awkwardly for my taste right now. We’ll see...fuzz might well become an issue here requiring a floor rotation at home.
Last edited by Gavanti on Fri Aug 07, 2020 5:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
natthu
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 2511
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 4:30 am
Location: Adelaide, Australia

Re: your effects setup?

Post by natthu » Tue Aug 04, 2020 12:58 pm

Shadoweclipse13 wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 2:31 am

Are you secretly me? Haha.
Well, I've never seen us in the same room together...so... :D

User avatar
Shadoweclipse13
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 9378
Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:22 pm
Location: Stuck in the dimension of imagination

Re: your effects setup?

Post by Shadoweclipse13 » Tue Aug 04, 2020 7:50 pm

natthu wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 12:58 pm
Shadoweclipse13 wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 2:31 am

Are you secretly me? Haha.
Well, I've never seen us in the same room together...so... :D
:D :D :D ... ... :ph34r:
Pickup Switching Mad Scientist
http://www.offsetguitars.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=104282&p=1438384#p1438384

User avatar
MazzyJaster
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 5:18 am

Re: your effects setup?

Post by MazzyJaster » Wed Aug 05, 2020 5:07 am

FX8 >> Kemper >> PC >> VST >> FX8 (using Line Out/Hi-Z reamp box).

User avatar
MazzyJaster
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 5:18 am

Re: your effects setup?

Post by MazzyJaster » Wed Aug 05, 2020 5:11 am

FX8 >> Kemper >> PC >> VST >> FX8 (using Line Out/Hi-Z reamp box).

So basically I have all the FX from a few VST amp sims, the FX8 and the Kemper, plus a selection of ITB reverbs and delays, and also a few other weird FX plugins.

User avatar
Gavanti
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 1505
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 6:31 pm
Location: Des Noise, Idohiowa
Contact:

Re: your effects setup?

Post by Gavanti » Wed Aug 05, 2020 9:55 am

spiffy chap wrote:
Tue Jul 28, 2020 12:29 pm
Image
This picture really makes me want a 70s thinline (and a Space Echo).

Post Reply