Musical life after bands...

Favorite new record? Favorite old record? Got a band? Post it here.
JSett
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Musical life after bands...

Post by JSett » Thu Feb 15, 2024 9:55 am

As I stare down the barrel of the second half of my life I find myself in a dilemma and a sense of uncertainty. I've been playing in bands since I was 13 years old, which will be 30 years in 2025. I can see the future, and the future is not playing in a band anymore.

Almost all the old people from our local scene have quit, just a handful of us still exist as active musicians, and even less have time or inclination to be in a band any more. The band I'm in is great, we have fun and have some devout fans, but it definitely has an expiration date. When that is is unknown but I know the drummer has plans to move to Ireland in the next few years and the bassist has a young family and a struggling business to prop up. It likely has 18 months to 2 years of life left in it. When either one of those call it a day then there is literally no one else to take their place.

So, what to plan for the next few decades I might get to exist as far as music goes? Just aimlessly noodling in the spare room into oblivion? Go do open mics and solo shows to fill the void? I don't want to join a covers band ( :k ) and I don't want to be that old guy still hanging onto a dream singing irrelevant dross to half-empty pubs of people that would rather the jukebox was on.

All my musical life, my playing has had a purpose - writing music with the express purpose of it eventually being played in some form of ensemble.... what do I do when there is no ensemble?

So, question to all those who've gone through the in-bands-quit-bands-now-alone phase of musicianship. How do you approach your hobby with that lack of purpose driving it?

Here's me in my element. I will miss this when it's gone:

Silly Rabbit, don't you know scooped mids are for kids?

Dr Tony Balls
PAT. # 2.972.923