New to the forum

New to the board? Start a post to tell us about yourself and/or learn more about our other members.
Ensono
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

New to the forum

Post by Ensono » Mon Mar 25, 2024 8:26 am

I've been playing guitar for over 30 years, but am fairly new to offsets.

What made me want to start playing was watching John Frusciante in the "Under The Bridge" video--that sealed the deal for me. Of course, he was playing a Sherwood Green Jag.

Ironically, my first proper electric was a Strat, probably because they were more available, and because offsets were far too mysterious and esoteric for me. A friend of mine also had a Jag-Stang that we could never keep it in tune, so I wrote off offsets as temperamental.

I played in multiple bands and projects throughout my 20s and early 30s, but never with an offset. My playing days came to an end in my mid 30s, and I ended up selling most of my gear.

Now that I'm in my mid-40s, I'm rediscovering guitar and music.

It started with buying a Strat in early 2023, and then I bought a Squire CV 70s Jaguar a few months later.

So far, I've installed an AVRI vibrato and a Staytrem bridge.

My latest plan was to put together a Warmoth Jag in Sherwood Green and a reverse headstock to call back to the John Frusciante moment (with my own twist), but I've decided to put on the brakes and try to get to know Jags a bit more before I spec out my own.

I will likely turn my current Jag into a testing canvas for building my custom Warmoth, which means that I'll throw more money into it than its actual cash value.

But I'm ok with that, because it's an experiment to get me to my ultimate goal.

Next up is a set of Bootstrap pickups and likely a wiring harness from Hoagland to really upgrade the electronics. I haven't seen many posts here about the Bootstrap Big Spotted Cats, so I'll post my findings here when I know enough about them.

Again, the mods are more than the guitar is worth in cash, but I have a plan....