Guitar recording issue....!!!

Get that song on tape! Errr... disk?
Post Reply
User avatar
budda12ax7
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 6807
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:04 pm
Location: Mean Streets of OC

Guitar recording issue....!!!

Post by budda12ax7 » Fri Feb 23, 2024 5:31 pm

I will try to explain as best I can:
The problem:
I run my guitar into the Focusrite input 1.....I have my head phone mix coming from the Focusrite headphone output....but

My clean guitar goes into my Studio One 4 on what channel I put a guitar track on...the problem is with the studio one fader I can't control the volume of the raw clean guitar....the studio one fader controls the volume of whatever amp vst I put on that channel....when I lower the Studio One fader it lowers the volume or input of the Ampire amp sim vst I have running on that guitar track and then I only hear the raw clean guitar.
SO...in my head phones I hear the raw clean guitar and the amp vst ..the Focusrite channel knob controls the raw clean sound.

I never had Studio One running like that...I would normally just hear the amp vst sound in the head phones.....I don't know if I clicked something in the scarlet mix control of something.....very annoying...
Any ideas??

User avatar
mcatano
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 3:01 pm

Re: Guitar recording issue....!!!

Post by mcatano » Sat Feb 24, 2024 5:34 am

Sounds like you have direct monitoring turned on in the focusrite mix/routing software and want to mute it. I'm not familiar with scarlett interfaces but try searching "how do i mute direct monitoring focusrite scarlett" and someone will probably have already answered this on reddit.

User avatar
GreenKnee
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 1228
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 7:05 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: Guitar recording issue....!!!

Post by GreenKnee » Sat Feb 24, 2024 6:49 am

Pretty sure there's a button on the front of focusrite stuff that will turn off direct monitoring.

User avatar
Larry Mal
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 19721
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:25 pm
Location: Saint Louis, MO

Re: Guitar recording issue....!!!

Post by Larry Mal » Sat Feb 24, 2024 7:57 am

Back in those days, everyone knew that if you were talking about Destiny's Child, you were talking about Beyonce, LaTavia, LeToya, and Larry.

User avatar
budda12ax7
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 6807
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:04 pm
Location: Mean Streets of OC

Re: Guitar recording issue....!!!

Post by budda12ax7 » Sat Feb 24, 2024 9:59 am

Thanks....that sent me to the right place...I have the scarlet Gen 1 four input unit....will look at the software mix interface....I probably clicked something.

User avatar
Owl
PAT PEND
PAT PEND
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 12:03 pm
Location: France

Re: Guitar recording issue....!!!

Post by Owl » Thu Mar 07, 2024 10:05 am

Isn't there a switch? Maybe in your settings...
Focusrite Control > File > Output Presets > System Playback

Post Reply