Studio “recording” light setup?

Get that song on tape! Errr... disk?
Post Reply
User avatar
hillerheilman
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 6:42 pm

Studio “recording” light setup?

Post by hillerheilman » Tue Aug 18, 2020 1:06 pm

Hey forum, I have a somewhat odd question.

I’m thinking about getting a light for outside the room where I record all my music to indicate to my roommates that I am in fact recording. I use an audio interface and an iPad for pretty much everything, and I’m wondering if there’s a way that I could somehow sync the light to turn on and off with the recording button in my iPad daw.
Does anyone know how I could do something like that?

User avatar
Dok
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 1715
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 10:39 pm
Location: Ojai

Re: Studio “recording” light setup?

Post by Dok » Tue Aug 18, 2020 1:45 pm

Not sure if this will work since you're on an iPad and not a computer, but...

https://www.punchlight.com/recording_lamp_usb
Local milk person

User avatar
marqueemoon
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 4066
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2016 9:37 pm
Location: Seattle

Re: Studio “recording” light setup?

Post by marqueemoon » Tue Aug 18, 2020 1:57 pm

A little clunky, but you could use an audio controlled relay (RDL ST-ACR1) connected to a spare analog output on your interface and use that for contact closure to trigger something like a Lowell RPC-15-S that your “recording” light is plugged into.

So, your backing track/ click starts up, the audio controlled relay senses it and triggers the power control device to apply power to whatever is plugged into the receptacle. Once the relay stops sensing audio contact closure is released to the power control, and the sign goes off.

That Punchlight looks way simpler though.

User avatar
Larry Mal
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 15202
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:25 pm
Location: Saint Louis, MO

Re: Studio “recording” light setup?

Post by Larry Mal » Tue Aug 18, 2020 2:21 pm

Can't you just get an "On Air" sign of some kind?

Does it really need to be sync'ed to the record button, or can't you just hit it when you know you will be recording and leave it on for the duration?
Back in those days, everyone knew that if you were talking about Destiny's Child, you were talking about Beyonce, LaTavia, LeToya, and Larry.

User avatar
hillerheilman
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 6:42 pm

Re: Studio “recording” light setup?

Post by hillerheilman » Tue Aug 18, 2020 2:25 pm

Larry Mal wrote:
Tue Aug 18, 2020 2:21 pm
Can't you just get an "On Air" sign of some kind?

Does it really need to be sync'ed to the record button, or can't you just hit it when you know you will be recording and leave it on for the duration?
Fair point, Larry.
I just wondered if it could be done for convenience/coolness.
Have I mentioned that I sometimes over complicate things needlessly? :D

User avatar
Larry Mal
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 15202
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2010 4:25 pm
Location: Saint Louis, MO

Re: Studio “recording” light setup?

Post by Larry Mal » Tue Aug 18, 2020 2:26 pm

hillerheilman wrote:
Tue Aug 18, 2020 2:25 pm

Have I mentioned that I sometimes over complicate things needlessly? :D
We all do. There wouldn't be a forum without it.
Back in those days, everyone knew that if you were talking about Destiny's Child, you were talking about Beyonce, LaTavia, LeToya, and Larry.

User avatar
jorri
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 2266
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 1:53 am
Location: bath, UK
Contact:

Re: Studio “recording” light setup?

Post by jorri » Tue Aug 18, 2020 4:53 pm

hillerheilman wrote:
Tue Aug 18, 2020 2:25 pm
Larry Mal wrote:
Tue Aug 18, 2020 2:21 pm
Can't you just get an "On Air" sign of some kind?

Does it really need to be sync'ed to the record button, or can't you just hit it when you know you will be recording and leave it on for the duration?
Fair point, Larry.
I just wondered if it could be done for convenience/coolness.
Have I mentioned that I sometimes over complicate things needlessly? :D
Smart WiFi lightswitch, I'm sure tons of things like that. One i've seen is just controlled to a phone app.
But with the record button? I do not know- i bet someone could come up with a Reaper command, they usually do. (but you're not using that!)
How are you at writing code?

User avatar
hillerheilman
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 6:42 pm

Re: Studio “recording” light setup?

Post by hillerheilman » Wed Aug 19, 2020 6:02 pm

jorri wrote:
Tue Aug 18, 2020 4:53 pm
hillerheilman wrote:
Tue Aug 18, 2020 2:25 pm
Larry Mal wrote:
Tue Aug 18, 2020 2:21 pm
Can't you just get an "On Air" sign of some kind?

Does it really need to be sync'ed to the record button, or can't you just hit it when you know you will be recording and leave it on for the duration?
Fair point, Larry.
I just wondered if it could be done for convenience/coolness.
Have I mentioned that I sometimes over complicate things needlessly? :D
Smart WiFi lightswitch, I'm sure tons of things like that. One i've seen is just controlled to a phone app.
But with the record button? I do not know- i bet someone could come up with a Reaper command, they usually do. (but you're not using that!)
How are you at writing code?
Not a code literate guy myself, but the WiFi based switch could be a solution...

User avatar
øøøøøøø
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 4920
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 8:26 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Re: Studio “recording” light setup?

Post by øøøøøøø » Wed Aug 19, 2020 7:12 pm

I've never tried anything like this, but you could probably set something up via MIDI.

If you had, say, a set of MIDI transport controls, you could probably set that up so it fires off an extra set of MIDI messages when you hit "record" or "stop." Then it's just a matter of figuring out how to get this MIDI message to control the light.

A bit outside my wheelhouse, but I'm sure it's possible.

User avatar
MazzyJaster
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 5:18 am

Re: Studio “recording” light setup?

Post by MazzyJaster » Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:22 pm

Can't you leave a note on the door saying Do Not Disturb?

User avatar
hillerheilman
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2016 6:42 pm

Re: Studio “recording” light setup?

Post by hillerheilman » Wed Sep 02, 2020 2:31 am

MazzyJaster wrote:
Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:22 pm
Can't you leave a note on the door saying Do Not Disturb?
Yeah, I could. As I said above, I over complicate things sometimes. I just wanted to see if it could be done for the coolness factor and convenience.

User avatar
MazzyJaster
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 5:18 am

Re: Studio “recording” light setup?

Post by MazzyJaster » Wed Sep 02, 2020 7:51 pm

hillerheilman wrote:
Wed Sep 02, 2020 2:31 am
MazzyJaster wrote:
Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:22 pm
Can't you leave a note on the door saying Do Not Disturb?
Yeah, I could. As I said above, I over complicate things sometimes. I just wanted to see if it could be done for the coolness factor and convenience.
Sorry, it was just a joke :) I've got Philips Hue in my recording space and it works via WiFi. I could never go Back to normal lighting, and I have a different setup for every kind of mood. I don't have a light outside the door yet, but it's easily doable!

User avatar
øøøøøøø
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 4920
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2008 8:26 pm
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Contact:

Re: Studio “recording” light setup?

Post by øøøøøøø » Thu Sep 03, 2020 4:40 am

øøøøøøø wrote:
Wed Aug 19, 2020 7:12 pm
I've never tried anything like this, but you could probably set something up via MIDI.

If you had, say, a set of MIDI transport controls, you could probably set that up so it fires off an extra set of MIDI messages when you hit "record" or "stop." Then it's just a matter of figuring out how to get this MIDI message to control the light.

A bit outside my wheelhouse, but I'm sure it's possible.
A quick google reveals that someone has already figured the MIDI angle out.

Bob's yr uncle:

https://www.punchlight.com/recording_strip_usb

User avatar
Dok
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 1715
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2011 10:39 pm
Location: Ojai

Re: Studio “recording” light setup?

Post by Dok » Thu Sep 03, 2020 8:18 am

øøøøøøø wrote:
Thu Sep 03, 2020 4:40 am

A quick google reveals that someone has already figured the MIDI angle out.

Bob's yr uncle:

https://www.punchlight.com/recording_strip_usb
A quick read of THIS THREAD would reveal that too 8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8)
Dok wrote:
Tue Aug 18, 2020 1:45 pm
Not sure if this will work since you're on an iPad and not a computer, but...

https://www.punchlight.com/recording_lamp_usb
Seriously, though, I wish I could get one of these for every room in my house so NOBODY MOVES when I'm recording...
Local milk person

User avatar
fever606
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923
Posts: 674
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 3:03 pm
Location: district of columbia

Re: Studio “recording” light setup?

Post by fever606 » Thu Sep 03, 2020 10:23 am

Assuming the REC button on your DAW sends a MIDI CC when pressed (it probably does), you could get a MIDI-capable DMX controller (or put together something like this) and go from there...

https://youtu.be/TlQPGW-gHGE?t=110

Post Reply