Tiny Desk-esque live recording

Get that song on tape! Errr... disk?
marqueemoon
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Tiny Desk-esque live recording

Post by marqueemoon » Thu Feb 23, 2023 9:58 am

One of my bands (two guitars/bass/drums) is going to be shooting some live video footage of us playing. We're going to be submitting to the Tiny Desk contest (one song) and we're hoping to get 4-5 songs total we can use for general promo purposes. The plan is to do this quasi-Tiny Desk style (as low a volume as we can muster on electric instruments/acoustic drums). We've had a few practices and gotten our list down to the 5 songs we feel work best this way.

I've volunteered to do the audio since I have some gear and experience in this area. My interface has 4 inputs. What I have in mind is just a stereo mic in the room, direct bass (to provide some low end to supplement the room sound), and a mic on the lead singer (we'll be performing without a PA). We are quiet enough that I think backing vocals will come through enough in the room mics, and having bass and lead vocals will help me balance those elements as needed against the stereo pair. The bass really carries this band, so I think being able to fill out the low end with subtle use of an amp sim will really help everything feel good. The drummer is playing with hot rods, so there is already a bit more kick vs. snare in the sound of his kit.

To me it makes the most sense to keep this simple. I will only be able to monitor on headphones between takes, and we have very limited time. I also have to perform.