Jag or JM: how did you choose your first one?

Discussion of newer designs, copies and reissue offset-waist instruments.
adrian
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Jag or JM: how did you choose your first one?

Post by adrian » Tue May 19, 2020 5:45 am

Hello ladies and gentlemen,

I apologize if such a topic has already been made.
I am curious to know which was your very first Fender offset that you owned, and why did you choose one over the other - was it the price, the look, the different sound (I started playing again after a while and I realized that I can’t tell the differences in sound between Jag’s and Jazzmasters, Father forgive me for I have sinned :wacko: ), the switch controls or lackthere of?

Looking forward to read your stories!

adamrobertt
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Jag or JM: how did you choose your first one?

Post by adamrobertt » Tue May 19, 2020 5:58 am

For me, Jazzmasters are the most beautiful guitars ever designed. Jags are cool too, but I go back and forth between hating all the chrome and liking it. Also the Jazzy's slightly softer curves look nicer IMO.

Also, I went for a JM because I like the full scale, the switching, and the pickups better. I have owned Jags and liked them, but if I had to choose one and never again have the other, it'd be a Jazzmaster.

Ceylon
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by Ceylon » Tue May 19, 2020 6:28 am

I started out with the Jazzmaster because that's what all my idols at the time were playing. Sonic Youth predominantly, but also J Mascis, My Bloody Valentine, Robert Smith, Thom Yorke, Tom Verlaine, you'd see them on stage with Nine Inch Nails, them and a bunch more. You weren't exactly spoiled for offset choices back where I live in 2010 though so I'd probably have sprung for a Jaguar as well if that had shown up first.