Fender Vintera 60s Jaguar Mods?

Discussion of newer designs, copies and reissue offset-waist instruments.
retrocandy
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Fender Vintera 60s Jaguar Mods?

Post by retrocandy » Fri Nov 06, 2020 2:56 pm

Hi everybody, newbie here.

I just scored myself a great deal ($600!) on a new Vintera 60s Jaguar:

It's an amazing sounding guitar (love the dual pickup combo) that gets me those Beach Boys tones I've long wanted.

Anyway, I'm curious if anyone else here has this exact guitar and what mods, if any, were done to it. Right off the bat I'm thinking of swapping out the tuners for standard tuners, as I'm used to those.

This guitar goes out of tune kind of often, even without use of the vibrato arm. What could be the issue there? Maybe the bridge?

Is it possible to turn the rhythm/lead switch into a kill switch, a la the Classic Player/Modern version? I kinda got used to that with my CP Jag.

Thanks for any comments!

philshield
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Fender Vintera 60s Jaguar Mods?

Post by philshield » Fri Nov 06, 2020 3:55 pm

Looks awesome! I've not got one but if there are tuning issues and it's not using the trem I'd say maybe have the nut looked at? Could be it's not quite smooth and is getting the strings a little jammed up.

In terms of the kill switch you could always just turn the volume control down for the rhythm circuit then that would serve the same function, I sometimes do it with my CP JM.
"Thats a bad word transparent, if it doesn't sound like anything what do you want to buy it for" - J Mascis

timtam
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Post by timtam » Fri Nov 06, 2020 7:58 pm

Having a traditional-style jag and a CP jag gives you a combination with some similar setup approaches, and some totally opposite. The differences are due to the rocking bridge on the Vintera, and the fixed AOM/TOM bridge on the CP. Differences are magnified if you are a heavy trem user.