Help me decide between American Original vs Am Pro 2 Jazzmaster

Discussion of newer designs, copies and reissue offset-waist instruments.
smogfalls
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Help me decide between American Original vs Am Pro 2 Jazzmaster

Post by smogfalls » Thu Nov 12, 2020 6:41 am

Hi guys,

I'm new to this forum, but I've played guitar my whole life and it's what I do for a living. I'm now 35 and am looking to pick up my first offset guitar finally after years of wanting a jazzmaster.
I've been scouring these forums for opinions on the 2 models that I've whittled it down to.. the American Original 60's Jazzmaster and the brand new American Professional II Jazzmaster. I've seen a good few posts on the former, but not too much about the latter. I did read through a 14 page thread on the Pro II but I didn't see any comments from people who own one or have played one.

So, here's where I'm at so far..

American Professional 2 good points:
I much prefer the look without binding, so visually the AmPro 2 is a little more appealing to me.
I like the fact that the edges of the board are rolled to give it a softer, more played in feel.
I also like that it's essentially pre-modded with a mustang bridge.

American Original good points:
Nitro finish. I'm after a sunburst model and feel that from images I've seen, the burst on these is a little more vintage correct.
Nicer, more vintage correct pickups.
Original wiring scheme. (I'm not at all interested in modified wiring schemes or the like so the vintage correct aspect of this is very appealing.)
I prefer the tuners on this model too.

Basically, I love all of the vintage correct appointments of the American Original.. I just wish it didn't have the binding!.. Shallow I know!
Should I just man up and get an American Original and learn to love the binding?.. or should I get the Am Pro 2 and swap the pickups?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer me!
Alex :)

Larry Mal
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923