Lefty looking for Jazzmaster buying advice

Discussion of newer designs, copies and reissue offset-waist instruments.
SkiffleHanded
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Lefty looking for Jazzmaster buying advice

Post by SkiffleHanded » Sat Sep 18, 2021 6:36 am

Hi all,

I am relatively new to offset guitars. I mostly owned strat style in the past but an impulse buy of a Cobain jaguar has turned me on to this body shape. I'm interested in buying a jazzmaster but want to make sure I'm buying one I can keep a while and won't feel the need to replace any time soon. Buy once cry once, right? Here are the options as I see them for me considering I'm a lefty:

Squier classic vibe 60s
American Pro 2
Fender mod shop

I was leaning towards the classic vibe because a lot of reviews say this is the most "true" form of the Jazzmaster as far as tone and feel, but my concern is long term I might be better off getting the Am Pro 2 and swapping pickups to get it to sound right or just going mod shop to spec what I want. I don't need the guitar ASAP and I have enough disposable income that I can save/budget to afford the models I've mentioned along with anything else in that price range or a little higher. What is the right move? I didn't include anything used/vintage since inventory and price are hard to predict but if that's what will get me the real Jazzmaster experience and sound without going too crazy on price I'm open to recommendations on which models to keep an eye open for. Thanks in advance for reading my long post and for any advice!

SexingtonVonHercules
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Re: Lefty looking for Jazzmaster buying advice

Post by SexingtonVonHercules » Sat Sep 18, 2021 10:13 am