I Want a Nice Jazzmaster - 30 Years Later

Discussion of newer designs, copies and reissue offset-waist instruments.
benji
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

I Want a Nice Jazzmaster - 30 Years Later

Post by benji » Sun Sep 24, 2023 7:25 pm

Hi all, I’ve had a revelation recently and could use some advice.

I started playing guitar as a teenager in January 1994. So in a few months, I will be able to say I’ve been playing for 30 years. And after many years and many guitars, I’ve come to the conclusion that the Jazzmaster suits me best.

I’m selling off a lot of gear (bye bye Musicmasters) to get a nice JM. I’ve had a Squier CV JM before, and I am borrowing my bandmate’s Mascis JM indefinitely. But I’d like to buy something MIJ or MIA.

The most important thing for me is going to be “neck feel.” I like thinner necks, so I’m looking for either a modern C or 60s C profile. I think even a deep C will be too much for me, and definitely staying away from D and U profiles.

A few additional notes: I’m going to stay away from MIM as well because for whatever reason I’ve never found an MIM neck that suited me. I don’t mind swapping electronics and pickups if needed. Having played a lot of Squiers, I probably prefer a 9.5” radius with medium jumbo frets, but I can get along with a vintage radius and vintage frets too.

I’ve narrowed it down to the three JMs that I might want to try. Which would be your pick? Or given my tastes, are there any others I should consider?

MIJ Hybrid II
Affordable, good electronics, good pickups, modern C with 9.5” radius and satin finish like the Mascis. I don’t need a rhythm circuit at all.

MIJ JM-66
More expensive than ever, needs new pups and electronics. But a nice 60s C neck with 7.25” radius. These are nice guitars and may continue to go up in value.

MIA American Vintage II
Extremely expensive but very classy. Obviously vintage correct and with good pups and electronics. Some QC issues. Maybe this is overkill?