Archtop Build Slowly in the Works

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.

Add Cutaway or Build New Archtop?

Poll ended at Sat May 30, 2020 1:18 pm

Add Florentine Cutaway
11%
Build a new archtop guitar
89%

Total votes: 9

funkyeah!
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Archtop Build Slowly in the Works

Post by funkyeah! » Fri May 29, 2020 1:18 pm

Please choose which one of these pictures you like better!

I have an Epiphone Masterbilt Deluxe that I love to play around the house. It occasionally gets used for jazz gigs (not now though...) and has a CHONKY neck that makes barre and jazz chords quite easy.

I've modified it by adding floating humbuckers to it with an aluminum L rail for the neck and a tab so the bridge pickup can be superglued to the pickguard. Duncan '59N and Pearly Gates Bridge (bridge only gets used with the neck for Birdland and other more rocked up Jazz songs.

I often find myself wishing I could do some more chordal stuff up high or allow runs to reach up past 15 comfortably so I've come to the conclusion I'd like a cutaway!

This guitar was like $800 when I bought it. It's now $600 brand new. I've devalued it by adding pickups and drilling pot holes into the top. I'd say it's safe to add a cutaway for any kind of resale value but I've never done that sort of thing before. My main trepidation is I like Venetian cutaways better for style; however, the Florentine cutaway is easier here and is better for upper fret access.

Please advise me if you've done this before. There's a great walk through on Youtube of a guy doing it to his friend's beat up Gibson.

The drawing guitar would have X-bracing with a floating full humbucker (love Pasquale Grasso and love the full humbucker tone without interfering with the top vibration)
Last edited by funkyeah! on Fri Sep 25, 2020 8:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Some days you just can't get rid of a bomb.

61fury
PAT PEND
PAT PEND

Re: Add Cutaway to Archtop or Build New?