The HairMaster - a Floyd Rose-afflicted offset

Talk about modding or building your own guitar from scratch.
epizootics
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

The HairMaster - a Floyd Rose-afflicted offset

Post by epizootics » Wed Nov 11, 2020 12:43 am

Now that my Bison baritone build is done, and that France is two weeks into its second lockdown, (prolly not the last one), what better time is there to started on my Build of Shame?

This is at least my twelfth revision on the blueprints. Here are a couple of the previous versions:

This last one will actually get built at some point. I already have the body & neck for it.

So. 25" scale, cherry body, rowan neck & bubinga fretboard, Jescar stainless steel frets, Gotoh vintage-style locking tuners and, of course, that Gotoh Floyd Rose unit I've been threatening to use on a guitar for the past six months or so.

Still unsure about the pickups - I am on a Mini-humbucker rampage at the minute, but I might go back to Strat-sized coils.

I broke down and went for the Kay/Harvester headstock again. It really is my favorite headstock shape ever.

After a few months of research and getting advice from here and there, and since I wanted to forego the locking nut, I decided to go the Parker Fly/Red Special route with the headstock design. Ken Parker advocates the use of a minimal headstock angle to limit friction at the nut. It turns out that a 4° angle was used on both the Fly and Brian May's Red Special. Both guitars used a wide-range trem with no locking nut. I also went with a zero fret.