Most Tele sounding Tele model

For guitars of the straight waisted variety (or reverse offset).
tune_link
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Most Tele sounding Tele model

Post by tune_link » Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:15 am

A few years back I bought and ended up gifting the only Telecaster I've ever owned. It was a MIM one but I cannot recall the exact model. At any rate, I've owned enough JMs, Jags, and Strats over the years that I can def tell you what I think a typical sounding one would be like (say if someone said what Jag is the "most Jaguar sounding" I'd probably point them to one with the regular switches on the lower horn, rhythm circuit, trem unit properly spaced from the bridge, and of the modern pickups Fender's Pure Vintage 65 set would get you a very typical "Jaguar sound").

I have zero experience with Teles but I wasn't super into the one I had. I've heard them sound great so I figure maybe I just got one that was atypical in some fashion.

If you were going to point me to a Tele model that would get me the sound most associated with the guitar, which would it be? Not vintage but something from the last 10 years or so is what I'm thinking. Doesn't matter if it's Fender or Squier just whichever one you think sounds closest to what a Tele should be.

Larry Mal
PAT. # 2.972.923
PAT. # 2.972.923

Re: Most Tele sounding Tele model

Post by Larry Mal » Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:55 am

So, on the traditional Telecaster, there is a brass plate that runs under the bridge pickup. But, you know, since that plate is an expense and your average person doesn't look under there to see it, the slack-ass company that is Fender often doesn't put that plate on there.

For instance, my American Standard didn't have it. But it's actually a pretty big part of the sound, and is the main reason why a Telecaster and a Stratocaster sound different in the bridge position (there are other factors).